Posted by: joshjasper | October 14, 2012

Haters Gonna Hate

Isaac and I were at the mall the other day and we found a Regular Show hat.  (our favorite cartoon)  As usual, Mordecai and Rigby are speaking the truth with the caption “Haters Gonna Hate.”  What a great reminder.

There’s always going to be that 10% that will never connect to or support your message.  (the “haters”)  But fortunately, your message is not for them.  I often have to remind myself of that.  Your message is for the people who already get it or for the for the folks that are on the fence.

For example, when I created a BINGO card that asked people to pay attention to the sexist commercials that are aired during the Super Bowl, my intended audience was not the thousands of men across the globe that are card-carrying MRA’s.  (Men’s Rights Advocates)  I knew they were going to be angry and hate the game.  I was trying to reach the person that would see the BINGO game and use it as a teachable moment with their peers and children.  Hundreds upon hundreds of game cards were sent back to me that were full of comments reinforcing the point that the media plays a large role in the way in which we stereotype men and women in our society.  It was a huge success.

Remember the billboard campaign I ran last year?  My objective was to broaden our violence prevention message while engaging more community members.  The billboard included the following tagline: “Creating a gay friendly community.”  I had realized that our services were not reaching the gay community.  I also realized that me asking our community to be friendly toward gay people was not going to be for everyone, which is why the billboards were repeatedly vandalized.

Every time our billboard was ripped down, I reminded the media that it wasn’t the entire community that put up that ladder and tore it down.  It was one person.  It was that 10%….the 10% that I wasn’t trying to reach with my message.

You can’t reach everyone with your message.  You don’t want to.  I’m never going to change the minds of the guys that sent me thousands of nasty emails and dozens of death threats because of the BINGO game.  I”m never going to change the mind of the guy that pulled our billboard down.  I simply want to expand the choir.  Because the voices of the choir will eventually drown out everyone else.

Don’t worry about the people who will not support you.  They never will.  They will distract you.  They will weaken your message and will prevent you from reaching your audience.  Because in the end, “Haters Gonna Hate.”  They always will.

Responses

  1. That kid should stick to being a homo sexual not a kid with a haters gonna hate rap hat


Leave a Reply

Categories

