Posted by: joshjasper | August 12, 2012

I’ve Been a Miner for a Heart of Gold

My daughter was born yesterday.  I am so very thankful for this precious gift.  For the second time in my life, I have been made aware of what is most important, while being reminded of how much work I need to do to let go of everything else that is not.  I don’t want to forget the focus I am feeling right now.  It’s clear.  It’s real.

The night before last a few of us gathered to provide dinner for some of the less fortunate in our community.  Men, women, and children showed up to serve food to people who may have gone hungry otherwise.  What really happened that night though was something all together different.  The countless barriers and obstacles that exist that make it difficult for all of us to connect with people in a genuine way were washed away with a few tacos and some Gatorade.  I watched as we became a community.  I watched as we forgot about the differences that exist between us and how we sought out the similarities.

The same question was asked over and over again from the volunteers as we left that evening.  They wanted to know when the  next community project was going to be.  But what they really wanted to know, what they really were wondering about, was when they were going to feel like they did in that moment again.  And why wouldn’t they?  They got a glimpse of what is most important and knew with every fiber in their bodies that it was right; that what they were doing for that one hour on a Friday night was more important than anything else.  They were experiencing the best of themselves.

I have a lot to learn.  No question.  I don’t pretend for a moment to be an expert in anything.  But what I do know with absolute certainty is that each of us are inherently good, and that what is seemingly impossible, can be realized simply by being true to ourselves.  Together, we can change the world.  I believe this.  I must.  I believe it for myself,  I believe it for you, and I believe it for my daughter.  Help me be what I know I can become and I will help you do the same.

Keep me searching for a heart of gold…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

