Posted by: joshjasper | January 30, 2012

Bitch, slut, femi-nazi, and whore

I’m really angry right now.  I know I should wait a few hours to allow myself to calm down a bit, but I need to get this out there now.  I am sick and tired of the gender stereotypes that exist for both men and women in today’s society.  I’m fed up.  More specifically though, I’m really upset about the way women continue to be portrayed.  I can’t be the only one that realizes that there are DIRE consequences for this behavior.  Enough already…please!

I started the day with reading an article about how “pole dancing” is considered a fun workout for women and that the classes build strength and cardiovascular endurance.  Come on!  (this should be an entire blog entry within itself)  I got to my office to find that 4 rape kits were administered over the past week and countless orders of protection were filed for women in our community.  The morning concluded with a presentation that I gave on gender stereotypes.

I start this presentation with a word association game.  I ask the audience to tell me the first word that comes to mind when asked what it means to be a stereotypical woman and man in today’s society.  I write their responses inside of the box and then ask them the following: What is first word that comes to mind if you’re not being a real woman or man?  Those words are written outside of the box.  (each sex has its own box)  I always share with the audience that I’ve done this exercise thousands of times throughout the country and reassure them that they will not offend me nor will they say anything that I’ve never heard.  Here’s what they came up with for the woman box today:

At this point, I could tell you exactly what words will be shared before we begin the exercise.  It ALWAYS looks the same in the end.  Don’t believe me?  Start paying attention to how women are being portrayed on television, magazines, movies, video games, and music.  It is no coincidence that men and women alike come up with the same answers.

Take a close look at the words we use to describe women; the words we use to teach young girls how to become women.  What should not be surprising to anyone, being a woman in today’s society has EVERYTHING to do with physical appearance.  And then then take a look at what’s going on outside of the box.  If you’re not a “real” women in today’s society, you are either a lesbian or a whore.  And let’s be clear here, no one is celebrating homosexuality outside of this box.

FYI-Look at how we expect women to be sexy and pretty, but quickly let them know that too much of that is not good either.  Because if they are too sexy, they are quickly cast outside of the box and defined as a whore and a slut.  I have no idea how women do it.  The line between inside and outside of the box is painfully thin.

This madness MUST end.  Women are so much more then a sex object.  They are strong, successful, independent people that deserve much more.  Pole dancing is not just another fun opportunity for women to get together and exercise.  When we teach girls to be sexy and pretty and then provide them with exercise opportunities that largely became popular from strip clubs, we only further reinforce the stereotype and further harm women and girls.

Responses

  1. You bring up a good point about the thin thin line between acceptably sexy and complete whore. The Madonna/whore complex requires all women to be saintly virgins, yet great in the sack, virtuous, yet not frigid.

    I never did get the stripper pole thing. I remember the original lure was to learn how to be sexy like a stripper to keep your man interested. Strip poles started popping up inside homes and bedrooms. Then the instructional tapes followed. I remember Carmen Electra being the big leader in all this. I’m sure it is a great workout. It’s actually pretty impressive some of the stunts they can do – it takes a lot of strength and endurance. I’m sure lots of degrading things are great exercise!

  2. Couldn’t have said it better!

  3. 80% of rape cases are unfounded and wrong because the woman acted like the natural born whore she is and got treated like it. Bitches should just sell their pussy on the corner like the birthed prostitutes they are – which is why prostitution IS this worlds oldest profession. Fuck you and your twisted feminazni want your cake and eat it too constantly lying bullshit. WOMEN ARE TOO BLAME.

    PERIOD.


Leave a Reply

Categories

