Posted by: joshjasper | September 26, 2011

Anger, Inc.

It may come to a surprise to some, but I do not set out to antagonize people.  My intentions are genuine and in line with my commitment to Riverview Center’s vision of a community free of violence.  With that said, I fully understand that some people in our community do not want to see the end of violence against women, children, and men, feel that gay men and women deserve to be harassed, and most certainly do not want to look inward as to how they may contribute to the violence that permeates our society.

While filing a police report today due to one of our billboards being vandalized,

I got to thinking about some of the times in which people have become angry at something that I have created or supported.

I started the year receiving death threats from around the planet due to a commercial that I created that spoke of ending men’s violence against women.

My hope with this commercial was to actually empower men by broadening the definition of how we stereotypically define men.  In short, men are so much more than tough, strong, aggressive, macho, etc., etc.  I believe that more men must model appropriate behavior for other men and boys.  We must challenge sexist norms, and speak out against hateful behavior.  Nevertheless, it was clear that this message was lost by the thousands of men that emailed me expressing their disgust in the commercial, while lobbing online threats toward me and my family.

An article I wrote for the HIM magazine that spoke of the bullying I experienced earlier in life prompted past employees and former classmates to write in, questioning my integrity, suggesting that I lied about my past.

Come to think of it, another billboard campaign got some men fired up when we opposed to the strip club opening in Dubuque.  Shortly after the business opened up, we placed a billboard above the club that asked male patrons to examine the impact objectification had on women.

I was accused of being a prude and a mangina for questioning men’s behavior.  (to some, I’ve come to believe that they think my middle name IS “mangina.”)

Through all of this, I’ve learned some incredibly valuable lessons along the way.  They are as follows:

1.  Follow your heart.  I have yet to be led astray.

2.  You can never, ever please everyone…especially when what you are trying to achieve threatens the norm.

3.  Don’t take it personal.

4.  There are some really unhappy people out there, and the root of their unhappiness has nothing to do with me.

Responses

  1. I admire your courage and wish that more men would speak out and make a difference. There are soooo many schools and colleges that would benefit from hearing you speak.

  2. Thank you for your kind words, Michelle. Your support is great appreciated. I love working with schools and colleges. The students prove to be very inspiring.

  3. Awesome Josh! Keep up the good work! I think we should have a gay rights party by that sign as we clean up the mess they made! So sad that people are so blinded by ignorance! You are truly an inspiration!

  4. How about a round two, ol’ sport?

    http://traitorsofmen.blogspot.com/2011/11/josh-jasper-still-up-to-his-old-tricks.html

  5. “My hope with this commercial was to actually empower men by broadening the definition of how we stereotypically define men.” yes you did spread the feminist stereotype of “all men as rapists” , and the vast majority of men who are not will continue to “follow our hearts” oppose your misandric propaganda.

    Violence is not a gender issue despite ideologies that preach it is for their own political gain. If you really cared about human violence then you should acknowledge the men are the overwhelming victims of violence world wide and make some attempt to address that as well. But no male suffering and female perpetration is invisible to you because it does not serve your agenda to acknowledge it.

  6. “I started the year receiving death threats from around the planet due to a commercial that I created that spoke of ending men’s violence against women.”
    And portraying all men as potential rapists from birth… Bravo, you’ve raised the bar (or lowered it in terms of how low you white-knight enablers will go)
    God called, he wants your testicles back, says he wants to make some more REAL men.


Leave a Reply

Categories

