Posted by: joshjasper | August 8, 2011

What is the ONE thing you would do for free?

What are you most passionate about?  What is the one thing that you would do for free or makes you unafraid of failure?  According to a number of surveys, most people (nearly 70%) don’t know what they are passionate about.  I think everyone has a fire in their belly that is fueled by one thing or another, and that maybe the origin of that fire (passion) is unknown only because we are not asking the right questions.

The one thing that I would do for free and makes me unafraid of failure is my passion for working toward the betterment of our community.  More specifically, the end of violence.  I could talk about violence prevention endlessly.  And if you know me well, I probably have talked your ear off about this at one time or another.  The fire rages within me when given the opportunity to work with other people with the same mindset.

Everything falls to the wayside when I am true to my passion.  Time slips away and I can lose entire months when I’m at my best.  My focus becomes razor-sharp.  I can see where I need to go and the countless decisions that are made along the way become simple to answer.  I do not hesitate or question myself.

So where does passion come from?  I’m guessing it comes from life experiences; the good, the bad, and the ugly.  I’ve seen the best and worst of mankind throughout my life, and I think it’s because of those experiences that I find myself drawn toward my passion more often than not.

I believe we realize the greatest level of happiness and success when being true to our passion.  When watching this music video I often wonder about the fire in the belly of the young boy.  There is no question that he will be not denied of what is his.  He will surely move mountains.

Leave a Reply

Categories

