Posted by: joshjasper | January 5, 2011

I’m Going Hungry

My appetite for passion is insatiable; I can’t get enough and I feed on it from others when offered like a starved animal.

I had the opportunity to talk to a woman on the phone this morning that leads a foundation that focuses on ENDING child abuse.  We talked at length about her vision of ENDING child abuse and how without that very specific outcome intended, all of the work would be for nothing.  I could hear the passion for her work come through the phone.   I could see the smile on her face and how her eyes lit up as she shared what we must do together to ensure that another child is not harmed.

Then it was my turn.  I like to think the passion I have for my work idles at about 8 or 9 on any given day.  Thinking back to the call, my passion meter was red-lining before I could get out my first word.  I was ramped.  Words were coming out of my mouth in clumps.  I could feel my face getting warmer and my mind was racing.  We were talking about ENDING violence together.  I was telling someone about my vision of ENDING violence and it wasn’t being met with disbelief and cynicism.  In fact, quite the contrary was taking place.

I’ve been fortunate to get to know some incredibly passionate people as of late, and here’s what I’ve learned:  You get two, three, 10 people in the room that have passion about something; anything, and you are going to realize greatness.  The obstacles, barriers and roadblocks you once stumbled over as an individual are now mere grains of sand on that road to success.

Tell me what you are passionate about.  I’m goin’ hungry….

Leave a Reply

Categories

