Posted by: joshjasper | December 13, 2010

Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn! Oh, my!

I’m trying, I really am.  I’m trying to stay current with all of the social marketing tools out there, but I must say, it’s hard work.  During a presentation at the University Northern Iowa I shared the amazing potential of Facebook.  I shared with the audience that nearly a dozen individuals have disclosed that they are a survivor of sexual abuse through Riverview Center’s Facebook page in the last few months and are now receiving our free services.  That is truly remarkable.

I stopped by Borders this past weekend and purchased a copy of Social Marketing for Dummies. I’ve got A LOT to learn.  I’ve got a handle on Facebook, I recently created my very own LinkedIn page, and I don’t have a clue about Twitter.  But it’s all worth it, right?  People spend over 700 billion minutes per month on Facebook.  Enough said.

Imagine if instead of the hundreds of millions playing Farmville and Mafia Wars on Facebook, people were learning about how they can be a role model, challenge sexism, and create a safe community.  We could change the world one friend request at a time.

 

Responses

  1. Hey Josh,

    You’re post got me thinking, so thanks for that. Somedays it takes all my effort to start thinking 😉

    If you don’t mind, I will throw my hat in the ring and tell you about some of the books and materials I have been listening to/reading to get my head around the whole idea of social networks and crowdsourcing. Maybe you, or your readers will be interested in learning about some of them. I don’t claim to be an expert in this, or any, area. But I have had the fortune of coming across some great books over the last years which have opened my mind to the world of possibilities.

    First and foremost, of course, is Steven Johnson’s “Where Good Ideas Come From: The Natural History of Innovation”. For me, this book is a must for anyone looking to facilitate sharing ideas. An amazing book about ideas, how we combine ideas, etc. This has more to do with crowdsourcing than it does social media. But in reality, I don’t think you can have one without the other.

    I just started listening to the book “The New Social Learning: A Guide to Transforming Organizations Through Social Media” (I subscribe to Audible; I recommend learning this way, it’s a great way to spend $20 a month). This book has been really good so far as they talk less about marketing through social media, but also how we can all learn together through social media.

    The best set of advice I have taken from the book is that trainings are great, but it’s just training something which is already known by others. Social Learning, on the other hand, is everyone learning about something at the same time.

    Here are some other books which I recommend taking a gander at. I’ve listened to them all (Audible is such a great thing…did I say that already? Nothing’s better than learning about this stuff while driving in the car, or even, mowing the lawn or shoveling snow!)

    “Groundswell” by Charlene Li, Josh Bernoff
    “Crowdsourcing” by Jeff Howe
    “Wikinomics: How Mass Collaboration Changes Everything”, by Don Tapscott and Anthony D. Williams
    “The Wisdom of Crowds: Why the Many Are Smarter Than the Few”, by James Surowiecki

    Some books which are on my upcoming listening list:

    “Socialnomics: How Social Media Transforms the Way We Live and Do Business”, Erik Qualman
    “Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust”, Chris Brogan and Julien Smith
    “Viral Loop: From Facebook to Twitter, How Today’s Smartest Businesses Grow Themselves”, by Adam L. Penenberg (this book sounds like Riverview all over!)

    Another great way I’ve found to find out more about these authors and the concepts they are throwing around is to listen to TED Talks. Every talk is free, can be watched on most smart phones or an iPad (or computer) and are all about 15 minutes long, which makes for a great deal of information in a short amount of time. Check it out at http://www.ted.com/themes/browse. Sunday night I listened to a talk on TED about how we can facilitate ideas into meeting and mating. Very cool….

    As for Twitter, our friend Brad often jokes that he’s going to Tweet what kind of sandwich he had for lunch, and there is a fair amount of that kind of nonsense chatter. But, with my comic books, I found it was a great way to create a kinship with other indie creators out there, or to seek advice from others in the same field, or just to chat with others about like minded interests. I think some of the problems we are finding in our field of social work is that there isn’t a huge crowd of people using the technology yet, so we feel some what isolated out there.

    We use Twitter at ResourcesUnite (www.twitter.com/resourcesunite) to simply aggregate information easily to our front page. That way we can tweet updates via phone, email, Twitter client, what have you, and it all shows up on our front page without having to hard code anything. So it’s been a nice utility feature for us in that respect.

    By the way, I just got done with the best turkey and bacon on rye. 😉

    At Crossroads, we’re beginning to test using Yammer (yammer.com) which is simply a Facebook-like client that only allows those in the domain (so in our case, anyone with a crossroadsdbq.com e-mail address) to communicate on their own terms and log a running conversation about our business, our practices and other ideas. We are just starting to test it at Crossroads, but it seems very promising.

    Okay, my closing thoughts on social media. I think people like yourself, myself and others should keep this conversation going, since we are securely in the social services field but are also trying to pull in to the social media outlets for many reasons. Even to meet (we still on for this weekend?) and talk about how to integrate social media in the Dubuque area would be exciting to me. Let’s pick a Wednesday night, once a month, each month, to meet and discuss!

    Sorry about the long comment. I just felt the need to share. Hope it doesn’t distract…..

  2. Thanks for the great post Jon! I hope the turkey and bacon on rye was good. To begin, you should know that your post will make my mom very happy. She’s been hounding me to get her Christmas ideas for me and you provided me with some great ideas. I look forward to the new books real soon! I am very interested in the Audible program, not to mention the Yammer program. Riverview Center is at the home stretch for building our new website and I’ve been talking about shared docs, forums, and other ways our employees can communicate with one another.

    I am definitely on for this weekend but don’t know a time. I really like your idea about a regular meeting. Miss Kitty (owner of the Grape Escape) in Galena does this on the first Tuesday of the month at her bar, or at least she used to. I love the idea of a regularly scheduled time in which we get people together to discuss all of this more. The first item on the agenda for Saturday night’s get together will be to make that happen!

    Talk soon….and again, thanks for the great post!

  3. My job here is done. Helping Mrs. Jasper. Hopefully now Santa will put me back on the Nice list.

    Yammer is pretty exciting. Again, we are too new to it as well to tell how well it will be integrated/accepted, but I like the features a lot.

    The time for the weekend is usually around the 830ish mark. We usually just text during the day to figure out what is going on with family life. Once kids are in bed and important family stuff done, then we go for the meeting. I sent you a text right now to make sure I have your right number, so will keep you in the loop come this weekend. But usually around 830ish.

    And I agree, first item on the agenda is finding a monthly meeting time and location.


Leave a Reply

Categories

