Posted by: joshjasper | November 21, 2010

Off the Beaten Path

I caught this great view on my phone  when I was standing in my front yard after work one evening and come back to it now and again.  I’m not exactly sure what it is about the image that strikes me so much but I will say that I have found it to be very relaxing.  I took a walk this evening down the gravel road that is visible in the distance and got to the top and just sat for a while to take it all in.  The view is different now.  The corn has all been harvested and the fields have been plowed for the spring.  The green earth has turned brown and the sky gets darker much earlier.
I’ve hiked this road many times before and have often noticed a ravine that leads to some timber.  I decided tonight that I was going to venture into this unknown area and I’m glad that I did.  I found an old windmill that is not visible from the road and a spring that bubbled up from the ground creating a small pond.  As I sat there appreciating my new find I got to thinking about the importance of regularly trying something new.  Had I not ventured off the beaten path I would never have come across this little oasis.
I need to try new things more often.  It’s so easy to take the same path each day, making the same type of decisions, and ultimately, arriving at the same outcomes.  No more “Easy” button for me!
Leave a Reply

Categories

