Posted by: joshjasper | April 23, 2010

Shifting Gears

I am officially shifting gears today.  Last weekend I was playing in an alumni basketball tournament and managed to tear my Achilles tendon.  I had surgery this week and am will now be wearing a cast for the next 4-6 weeks.  I am really trying to stay positive but I must say, hobbling around on crutches when the weather is FINALLY warm is making it especially challenging.

So now I am sitting at home with my laptop and the television.  My goal while recuperating is to do more writing and researching on a variety of different topics.   I was told recently that the best way to reach your goals is to write them down.  With that said, one of my goals is to write a book.  Now if I just knew what I wanted to write about!  I have been thinking for years about a book that acts as a tool to organize a community.  More specifically, a book that would discuss how to implement change.  Creating any type of change can be incredibly daunting.  But with that said, it has been my experience that a great deal of people want to participate in said change, but often times don’t know where to start.  For example, creating a community free of sexual violence (Riverview’s vision statement) can be a little daunting.  Without a concrete plan, feelings of apathy and confusion can run rampant. 

But as mentioned before, I am supposed to be in recovery, so back to channel surfing.  I have watched my first episode of “The Hills” on MTV this morning.  I just noticed that there is a marathon of this show running all day and night today.  With that said, I am feverishly looking for the remote to find something a little less mind numbing!

Responses

  1. Argh – sorry to hear about your injury.

    But cool news about the book plan! I think a book about how to implement change in your community is a fantastic idea.

    First step? Kill your television! 😉

  2. Josh,

    Take It from someone who has had alot of experience in using crutches.
    I think you have a great goal. You just inspire me!
    Take care.

    Pauline


Leave a Reply

Categories

