Posted by: joshjasper | February 13, 2010

Attention on Deck!

I received a call from Jackson Katz asking if I would be interested in co-facilitating a training on the Mentors in Violence Prevention (MVP) program for the Marines stationed at Camp Pendleton and 29 Palms, California.  I eagerly look forward to this opportunity.   I recently had the opportunity to take part in a training that took place at Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, and found it to be incredibly rewarding.

In my opinion, the MVP program has set the tone for all bystander intervention practices.  It is an incredible training and has proven to be effective in changing attitudes and beliefs that often reinforce sexist, demeaning, and abusive behaviors.  This training  inspires leadership within individuals by giving people concrete skills to create change.  Remarkably, the program is suitable for a wide array of audiences.  Marines, sailors, soldiers, college and high school students have all been trained.

The status of the upcoming trainings is uncertain at this point, but I am hopeful.  As a Marine, I feel like this is an opportunity for me to help bridge the gap between the military and my work in violence prevention.

Responses

  1. I took some time to get caught up on your blogs and am blown away by the work you are doing. Way to lead!!

  2. Thank you! It couldn’t be done without the incredible Riverview team.


Leave a Reply

Categories

