Posted by: joshjasper | January 27, 2010

Calm Like a Bomb

The Riverview roller coaster is gaining speed.  This week I have had some outstanding meetings, including presentations that have hit the mark, resulting in an increased interest in our work.  It’s hard to describe how it feels when I meet with a community member that is as motivated as I am about our mission, and is willing to dig in and get to work.  It’s the truest form of motivation for me.

Then I begin to hear that sound you hear as the coaster slows, nearing the top of the hill.  Click, click, click, click.  I’m at the top now and I know what’s next.

I had just gotten back from delivering a presentation to the Dubuque Rotary Club on our “Coaching Boys Into Men” program when I heard the news.  Our funding in Iowa was cut $41,000.  The  coaster ride just turned the corner and I was nosediving toward the ground.  This white-knuckle ride has been too familiar as of late.

At least with a roller coaster you know that the ride will eventually end.  What you pay for is what you get.  It’s hard for me sometimes to know what exactly we are “paying for” when it comes to these funding cuts.  What does it mean when our federal, state, and local governments experience revenue reductions and the first to be cut are the services primarily for women and children?  Surely this pattern is no coincidence year after year.

Leave a Reply

Categories

