Posted by: joshjasper | December 21, 2009

The Few, the Proud, the Marines

All of the memories came flooding back when I turned the corner on Highway 17 to find the main gate to Camp Lejeune (Marine Corps base) in North Carolina today.  It’s been 10 long years since I was last on a Marine Corps base.  I vividly remember my last day in the Marine Corps a decade ago leaving 29 Palms, CA.  I had my 1993 Pontiac Grand Am filled with all of my belongings and was headed back to Iowa.

I am here today for a two-day violence prevention training.  The senior enlisted Marines are being trained on the prevention program called Mentors in Violence Prevention.  (MVP)  The premise of this program is to empower individuals, organizations, and institutions to be role models for their peers, teaching common day scenarios that equip attendees with tools to become active bystanders when violence occurs.  It was a great first day of training, focusing on the prevalence of men’s violence against women, the history of the prevention program, and discussions about how to effectively teach fellow Marines how to change the social norms that contribute to violence.

My plan is to become a trainer of this program and to implement this incredible program into our local schools.  I was also asked to attend this training by the creator of the program, Jackson Katz, so that I could help his efforts in training the military throughout the world.  Although many of the things I learned in the Marines are fresh in my memory, I had forgotten about how strong the bond amongst Marines is, and how that environment breeds leadership. 

Leading by example and role modeling is an everyday practice in the lives of these men and women.

Responses

  1. I just hope you get out of there without being hazed again.

    Seriously, though, It’s good to hear the Corps is putting that program in place. I hope it’s more effective than the “don’t get married” classes.

  2. S. Lou-

    You are right in that it is a big step for the Marines to buy into this program. The hope of course is that it is adopted through all ranks of the enlisted and officers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

