Posted by: joshjasper | November 23, 2009

Once a Marine, Always a Marine

I feel like I did when I was in the Marine Corps when I received orders to report to a new duty station.  I was informed this past weekend that on December 21st I am to “report” to Camp Lejeune, NC (Marine Corps base) for a training.  The training will focus on the Mentors in Violence Prevention program that Jackson Katz created years ago.  This specific training though will not only focus on how to implement this violence prevention program in the schools, but will also have a focus on working with the military in violence prevention.

It’s funny how life works.  It’s been 10 years since I was in the Marine Corps, and I never would have thought that I would be given the opportunity to once again work with the military.  I remember being stationed in 29 Palms, CA (in the middle of the Mojave Desert) and marching my platoon down to the base theatre for a training from a “civilian” one day.  I don’t remember the topic of the training, but I do remember wondering what this “civilian” thought he was going to teach a bunch of hard-nosed, steely-eyed Marines that spend their days training for war.  “What could he possibly teach us?”  I am now that civilian.

It is incredible how things that are meant to be begin to take shape before your very eyes.  It was this very past week that I was meeting with a few individuals talking about our ramped up violence prevention efforts in our community, and how the implementation of the MVP program is the next piece of the puzzle.

Leave a Reply

Categories

