Posted by: joshjasper | September 4, 2009

Good Vs. Evil

I pledged awhile ago that I would make every effort to not turn my blog into a report of the violence that occurs on a regular basis.  I think I have done well with that commitment.  With that said, I feel compelled to share.

What is seemingly becoming the norm, we have been really busy.  This past month marked a record in the amount of counseling hours provided in one of our offices throughout the span of the last 17 years.  It is a wonderful thing that so many people are receiving the  needed services.  A client stopped by the office just the other day with flowers and a card for her therapist and advocate.  Inside the card was a simple message:  “Thank you for saving my life.” 

Enough said.

The not so wonderful reality is that so many people need our help due to the violence perpetrated.  I can’t begin to relay the impact that it has on anyone in our office to watch the increasing rates of children sitting in our lobby waiting for our counseling services.  Stories of women being raped by their boyfriends, husbands, and family members seem to be told on a daily basis.  I cannot remember the last time I presented on our work and didn’t have someone afterwards share with me that they had been victimized at one point in their life. 

Our work although rewarding, is difficult.  As they say though, nothing comes easy, and when you are working for something as important as changing the lives of those around you, and for the community at large, you have to take the good with the bad…all while believing that the good will soon triumph.

Responses

  1. And keep put one foot in front of the other! the best thing is not doing it alone- so thank you!

  2. The people at Riverview are my personal heros. I am o.k. today because of the support they have given me over the past months. They have not only helped me, but they have made a better future for my son, as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

