Posted by: joshjasper | July 28, 2009

I didn’t need to know that…did I?

While sitting in a coffee shop in between meetings this morning I was reading through the newspaper and was reminded why I don’t have a television, don’t receive the newspaper, and have Internet access at home only through my Blackberry….which can be all consuming if not careful.  Here’s what stood out in today’s paper:

-“The scene was so gruesome investigators could hardly speak.”  A 3 1/2 week old boy lay dismembered in his San Antonio bedroom where his toes were chewed off, his face torn away, his head severed, and his brains ripped out.  His mother was found on the coach screaming “I killed my baby, I killed my baby!”

-A father who had no interest in his 4 year old daughter hurled her off a 120 foot cliff to avoid paying child support in Los Angeles.

-As of Monday, July 27th, 2009, at least 4, 329 members of the U.S. military had died in the Iraq war.  In a different related article, the U.S. military in Afghanistan has stopped releasing body counts of insurgents believed killed in operations because the tolls distract from the U.S. objective of protecting Afghans.

-Stockton man arrested on charges of criminal sexual assault of a 17 year old female.

-NFL reinstates Michael Vick.  Vick was found guilty of brutally killing dogs that underperformed in his dog fighting business.

-Nigeria police: 55 die in attacks.

For someone that makes every effort to be solution oriented in my work, it’s hard to read the NEVER ENDING stories of violence that exists both in our local communities and throughout the world.  What can I do?  It makes perfect sense to me that we as a society have become apathetic to the violence that surrounds our existence.  It would stand to reason that we have become desensitized and normalize this behavior at every turn.

And why must the media continually focus on the negative?  Are there not enough positive stories out there that could also be shared?  Couldn’t we make an effort to at least balance out the bad with the good?  It’s almost as if we as the viewer/reader/consumer are only satisfied when we can learn about another person’s pain and suffering.

This observation has been a good reminder for me to really make an effort to share the positive experiences on my blog while sprinkling in some of the reality rather than the other way around.

Responses

  1. Great article, Josh. Disturbing, to say the least, but your take on the media is so accurate. Why don’t we hear about the good deeds people do everyday? I work in a field where I witness some of the unspeakable things people do to their children and it is very difficult to comprehend. Just once, I would like to read a positive headline!


Leave a Reply

Categories

