Posted by: joshjasper | July 27, 2009

Microphone Check

I was asked this morning my thoughts of the misogyny (hatred of women) that is too often found in rap music.  Before I got into that specific genre though, I found myself talking more about the misogyny found in all other forms of music.  It’s impossible to discount the power of music.  Hearing a song can instantly take you to a time in your past or change your mood with a simple drum beat or guitar solo.  I have countless favorite songs that I don’t really know the words to or have never given much thought to the lyricist’s point of view….well, maybe these days I give it more thought.

Anymore, we owe it to ourselves to take a moment and really listen to what is being sung.  Is it really necessary to hear Eminem talk about yet another way in which he is going to kill his girlfriend?  Do I need to hear another country song in which the male singer is describing in detail how the roles of women are to simply appease men?  Let’s also not forget about all of the rock music that I grew up with that included catchy lines like “she’s my cherry pie,” or ” pour some sugar on me,” and of course “she’s got legs.”

Getting back to the original question though.  When first asked about this reoccurring theme in music, I couldn’t help to also point out the incredible racism that exists in rap music.  Think about this….

Find me one rapper that isn’t portrayed as a thug, gangster, or someone to generally be afraid of and you’ve simply been listening to too much DJ Jazzy Jeff over the years.  More than 80% of all rap music bought is done so by Caucasian adolescents.  Also, nearly every single executive in the rap industry is Caucasian (owners of record labels, producers, etc.)  So to recap, we have white men paying black men to make music that is inherently racist that will be later be bought by brooding young white teens.

I remember when I was first introduced to rap music through the group N.W.A.  This was a group of young black men that often described their lives as gangsters.  I graduated from N.W.A. and moved onto Ice-T.  Ice-T became infamous for his music about killing police officers.  The first time I met an African American man or woman was when I was in college.  And guess what, I was afraid.  At the time I couldn’t put my finger on why I was afraid, but I was.

The real question has to do more with what we are really buying when getting the newest CD.  Over the years racism, sexism, and misogyny have earned a lot of golden and platinum records.

Responses

  1. Check out Jim Ott. He’s a psychologist in the Maq. district somewhere. One scary man. He does like his teen-aged girls for counseling. I would know. I’m the parent of one. My daughter tells me that he did more damage to her with the games he played than the original reason I trusted him to counsel her. He’s twisted.

  2. Thanks for the comment NMRN. I am sorry to hear about your experience with that counselor. I hope your daughter is in a better place now.

  3. The most comprehensive and very well thought out article I have found on this subject on the net. Keep on writing, I will keep on stopping by to read your new content. This is my fourth time coming by your website .


Leave a Reply

Categories

