Posted by: joshjasper | June 9, 2009

Do the Helen Keller?

The musical group called 3OH!3 (pronounced three-oh-three) debut song  titled “Don’t Trust Me” has rocketed up the charts and is in the Top 30 most popular songs in the country.  I know this because while eating breakfast with my son this morning it was playing on our kitchen radio.  After hearing the first chorus, I turned the radio off.  The chorus is as follows:

“Shush girl, shut your mouth, do the Helen Keller and talk with your hips.”

The song of course also details how women in general should not be trusted and that they are all “hos.”

As I was going through our office lobby today I noticed a recent copy of the magazine titled “Entertainment Weekly” with Eminem on the cover.  Em’s new album has sold more than 600,000.  The song “Stay Wide Awake” include the following lyrics:

Fe Fi Fo Fum
I think I smell the scent of a placenta
I enter central park, it’s dark, it’s winter in December
I see my target with my car, and park and approach her tender
Young girl by the name of Brenda and I pretend to befriend her
Sit down beside her like a spider, hi there girl you mighta
Heard of me before, see whore you’re the kinda girl that I’da
Assault and rape and figure why not try to make your pussy wider
Fuck you with an umbrella then open it up while that shits inside ya

What does it mean when music like this is so popular?  What are we learning?  And most importantly, what are we condoning?  Jackson Katz recently posted an article on the Huffington Post that does a great job discussing misogynistic music and its effects found at:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/jackson-katz/eminem-misogyny-and-the-s_b_211677.html

We as a community need to take a hard look  at what we are listening to and normalizing.   We also better be prepared to answer the inevitable question from our children of “what is the Helen Keller?”, not to mention the question for ourselves as to why we would allow such women hating material to exist in the first place.


Responses

  1. Parents have to take a stand. We cannot just give up knowing that our kids will hear these lyrics at a friends house. When this comes up in the parents presence we have to speak up, we have to explain, and we have to stand our ground. We can’t control the media, we can’t necessarily control our kids, but we can enlighten them and we can earn their respect in the process. If the child is mad at you at that moment it’s difficult, but it is better than not informing them. Chances are that child will, sooner or later, come to you and tell you that it finally sank in. It’s worth it.

  2. Great points Jeremy!

    The role of the parents is critical. The hope is that we all become more enlightened and empowered in this important effort.

  3. I couldn’t agree with you more. I wrote a similar post not too long ago and have gotten bombarded with comments today about how people disagree with me. They all think those lyrics are fine. Bleagh. It makes me sick. http://hautethought.com/2009/05/31/do-the-helen-keller-grow-up/


Leave a Reply

Categories

